A Lovely Thank You Note

I don’t often get snail mail at work anymore.  Most people don’t, I suppose.  But that’s one reason why it’s nice to send a hand-written thank you note after a meeting or interview.

I received a particularly nice note today that addressed me personally.  Candidates usually talk about the job or the company.  That’s fine, and expected.  But establishing a connection with the person who interviewed you is maybe even more important.  To paraphrase my favorite part of the note:

I really enjoyed learning about your company and the job.  I’m excited at the thought of working with and learning more from you in the future — your excitement is contagious!

Even compliments from college seniors feel good.

Leave a Reply

